extrazuloo.blogg.se

Build dedicated plex media server
Build dedicated plex media server










build dedicated plex media server
  1. Build dedicated plex media server upgrade#
  2. Build dedicated plex media server Pc#

I would say option 3 is the best, then if needed it's fairly easy to just upgrade the CPUs, decent cheap options on ebay if that becomes a requirement. Also, these are just some second hand configs that come with the system, I didn't want a GPU anyways, but I was unaware that you didn't need a GPU in the game server itself. I won't be watching and playing at the same time. Your best bet is go with high CPU Speed alot of RAM and good high speed drives, considering you want to run it all on one system. and the game servers will not need them at all. But you will not need a GPU, one plex doesen't support GPU transcoding.

build dedicated plex media server

Not because something is wrong with them. So that you can stop the game server(s) from pulling too much of the CPU power, or plex pulling all the drive preformance.Įither way it's gotta suffer from one or the other most likely, unless you are just one person using the media server.Īs for options i wouldnt go with any of them really. I would strongly suggest using a hypervisor here. If you want to transcode videos for streaming and run a game server in one machine you will get into problems. The first thing media servers seem to suffer from is drive speeds. ther server won't be running 24/7 it's just for when I need it. But the killer for me is that I have no idea how these processors and ram perform and what the differences are from regular consumer grade processors and what I need to watch out for. Graphics Card: 2Gb nVidia Quadro 4000 Graphics Card.Įitherway, I need a cpu with a cpu mark of over atleast 8000. Hard Drive: 1 x 128Gb SSD Solid State Hard Drive + 1 x 1000Gb 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive. Processor: 2 x E5-2609 Xeon Processors (4 Cores x 2 = 8 Cores = 16 Threads). HP Z620 fully refurbished workstations available in stock. Nvidia Quadro 600 (or Quadro 2000) / + $50 for a Quadro 4000 Two Intel Xeon HEX core Processor 2.80GHz X5660 (12 cores with hyperthreading - 24 logical processors) HP Z600 Dual HEX Xeon 2.80Ghz / 48GB RAM / 160GB SSD / Quadro Intel Xeon Hex Core (twelve threads w/hyperthreading) X5650 processor I just need some tips and advice as I have never worked with xeon processors before and not sure what to expect.ġ.Dell Precision T3500 Xeon Hex 2.66GHz / 80GB SSD / 16GB / Radeon HD6850

build dedicated plex media server

Or second hand computers with xeon processors.

Build dedicated plex media server Pc#

For this purpose, I'm looking at picking up a second hand machine, maybe an office pc with an i7 (the GPU can wait, I'm in no hurry for the gaming server). I would be streaming to other devices including my phone and hence would need to transcode sometime and therefore I need to make sure I've got enough processing power for 3-4 devices simultaneously. But primarily this would be a Plex media server. So I've wanted to setup a private media server/htpc with Plex and use it to double up as a game server occasionally, mostly for minecraft and some other games.












Build dedicated plex media server